ACCCA Production

Parece que o Mundo (It Seems the World)

“Parece que o Mundo” brings together Clara Andermatt and the composer João Lucas, who has been a long-time collaborator of the choreographer. Inspired by Italo Calvino’s "Palomar", the piece encourages the act of observing, while examining the subjective relation that is established between the observer and the one being observed. On stage, a diverse group of dancers and musicians share an expressivity which interweaves the gestures of the bodies with the sounds of musical instruments in motion.

Suspensão (Suspension)

“Suspensão” is an enigmatic performance of an experimental nature that brings together Clara Andermatt and two composers, Jonas Runa and António Sá-Dantas, for a co-creation and a joint interpretation in different artistic fields. Light-sensitive sensors distributed throughout the stage are activated by the interference of the body, creating sound that is modulated by the movement of the interpreters, in a game of shadows and light that proposes new interactions between sound and movement.


Fica no Singelo (Keep It Simple)

In “Fica no Singelo”, Clara Andermatt explores and works with the universe of traditional Portuguese music and dances. Departing from a research into the multiple forms of popular dance (“baile”, in Portuguese, is a word that differs from dance, as it specifically means folk dance) and its social functions as well as their cultural meaning and the sort of dialogue they establish between the group and the community. In “Fica no Singelo”, Andermatt brings to the stage fragments of (still existing) manifestations of our traditional legacy, interpreting them in new ways and establishing a new type of relation between the traditional and the contemporary, and with agelessness.


Ten years after “Dan Dau”, the work that crowns an intense period of creativity inspired on Clara Andermatt’s relationship with Cape Verdean culture, the choreographer resumes, in 2009, that relationship, creating “VOID”, a collaboration with two interpreters from past works. A year later, Andermatt brings to the performance yet another element of that shared past - the percussionist Kabum - and names it “VOID Elétrico”, a piece to be played outdoors, with a renewed organic structure.

Meu Céu (My Heaven)

“Meu Céu” is a street show created by Clara Andermatt for a town in the North of Portugal called Santa Maria da Feira. “Meu Céu” brings together a remarkably diverse team of dancers, actors, composers, traceurs, a group of performers aged 60 years or over, a rock band and a lyric singer. Appropriating the architectonic characteristics of the site and constructing a dramaturgy from the musical composition of João Lucas and Vítor Rua, “Meu Céu” is a large format production that brings together experimentation, risk and engagement, and that invites the audience to embark in a kind of community ritual.


“Polaroid” is a “double solo” by Clara Andermatt, a new work made after the trilogy dedicated to Cape Verde. In “Polaroid”, movement, sound, and image are articulated in order to form one single idiom, based on the choreographic discourse. An omnipresent giant screen establishes the connexion and interacts with the stage, both on the aesthetic and the narrative levels. Parallel timelines run in the same body: acceleration and slowness, the virtual body, the body under stress, the body that absorbs every event.

Uma História da Dúvida (A Story of Doubt)

“Uma História da Dúvida”, created in Cape Verde, is an outstanding work, both in Clara Andermatt’s career and in the history of Contemporary Dance in Portugal. The result is a large-scale production, passionate and strikingly visual, where music, movement and image combine. Fifteen male interpreters bring to the piece an intense physicality, and the powerful sonorities embody aspects of Cape Verdean culture. The piece was premièred at the 1998 World Exposition’s “Dive into the Future” Festival, in Lisbon. Clara Andermatt also received, in 1999, the Prémio Almada, the highest award from the Portuguese Ministry of Culture for this piece.

Anomalias Magnéticas (Magnetic Anomalies)

“Anomalias Magnéticas” was created in the aftermath of a pedagogic process developed in Cape Verde by Clara Andermatt, called “CV Sabe”. In “Anomalias Magnéticas”, the choreographer continues her artistic quest into the nature of power and knowledge and examines the opposing forces that inhabit each and every human being. The music is signed by the Cape Verdean composer and musician Vasco Martins, and the piece is interpreted by Amélia Bentes, Mónica Lapa, Félix Lozano, José Silva and the choreographer herself.

Cio Azul (Blue Heat)

“Cio Azul”, created in 1993, was a commission from the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation - Serviço ACARTE. Clara Andermatt returns to the theme of love, exploring its multiple forms through carnal, sexualized bodies. A piece for four dancers, including the choreographer, and a singer-accordionist of popular music, Soraya Cristina, who performs live onstage. “Cio Azul” is the first of the many collaborations of the choreographer with composer João Lucas, and it is also her first piece to be the object of a wide international tour.